Wed, 08 Feb 2023

JAKARTA, Dec. 9 (Xinhua) -- Indonesia inaugurated a new autonomous region in the country's easternmost island of Papua on Friday, bringing the country to a total of 38 provinces.

The new Southwest Papua is previously part of the West Papua province.

"Creation of the new province is to optimize public services and improve people's welfare," Home Affairs Minister Tito Karnavian said at the inauguration ceremony in Jakarta.

He appointed an acting governor to form a local government structure, maintaining political stability and security in Southwest Papua.

More Jakarta News

Access More

Sign up for Jakarta News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!